New Members Of The Order Of Orillia

By John Swartz

Orillia council chambers had a large audience on hand Monday afternoon as Mayor Don McIsaac recognized four recipients of the Order of Orillia.

“It is a privilege to present this year’s recipients. They are most deserving of this award. In fact, between the four of them they’ve got over 125 years of dedicated service to the City,” said McIsaac.

Fayne Bullen, Madeleine Fournier, Rick Purcell and Jim Saunders, the 2024 Order of Orillia recipients

The recipients are:

Madeleine Fournier, who volunteers at the Emergency Weather Overnight Warming Centre and the Orillia Youth Centre. She is also front and center organizing and leading climate change activism

Jim Saunders has been a long time volunteer board member of Hillcrest Lodge and The Sharing Place.

Rick Purcell, through his connection with the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 34 (president for 8 years) has been active in many community events and fundraisers. He has also served the 99 Lynx Air Cadets for 50 years.

Long time City councillor Fayne Bullen, has been involved one way or another with the Community Legal Clinic for Simcoe, Haliburton, and Kawartha Lakes for 42 years and has volunteered with a number of community organizations.

Audience on hand in council chambers for the 2024 Order of Orillia ceremony.

Commemorative Award committee chair Chuck Penny was asked about what happens if a person as young as Fournier does something significant 10 or 20 years from now since she is now a member of the Order.

“We’ve looked at whether or not it’s feasible to give someone it again and I think if they continue on, and most people do; you look at the board, the people that are recognized, they’re still involved. If there’s a strong enough commitment then they would be recognized again. I would have no difficulty with that,” Penny said.

See more about each recipient’s community record here.

(Photos by Swartz – SUNonline/Orillia and Image Supplied) Main: Orillia commemorative awards committee chair Chuck Penny, Order of Orillia recipients Jim Saunders, Madeleine Fournier, Rick Purcell and Fayne Bullen, with Mayor Don McIsaac in behind.


Support Independent Journalism