Citizen Of the Year Nominations

Citizen Of the Year Nominations

Nominations for Orillia’s 2022 Citizen of the Year open Monday with a deadline to submit a nomination of noon February 6. Nominations can be submitted using the online nomination form or you can pick one up at the front desk at City Hall.

The award is intended to recognize an individual citizen and is not open to groups or organizations. Submissions must include the full name and contact information of the nominator and nominee and a detailed explanation of why the nominee deserves to be named Citizen of the Year.

Since the City assumed awarding the Citizen of the Year January 2018 following the closing of the originator and decades long steward of the award, the Packet and Times, the annual winners are:

Marci Csumrik 2021

Fred Larsen 2020

Stan Mathewson 2019

Michael Gordon 2018

Gill Tillmann 2017

Nominees must be residents of Orillia, Chippewas of Rama or surrounding townships who have contributed to the betterment of Orillia. The decision is based on the nominee’s accomplishments as a volunteer in 2022. The award will be presented at a Council meeting.

The 2022 Citizen of the Year panel includes Mayor Don McIsaac (non-voting member), and former winners Marci Csumrik, Michael Gordon, Fred Larsen, and Stan Mathewson, as well as Pure Country 106 morning host Carey Moran, Orillia Matters editor Dave Dawson, and Mario Tulipano of the Orillia Rotary Club.

(Image by Swartz – SUNonline/Orillia)


Support Independent Journalism