Leacock Medal Finalists Announced

By John Swartz

The Stephen Leacock Associates announced the finalist authors for the 2020 Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour award.

They are Heidi Jacobs, Amy Spurway and Drew Hayden Taylor. With Cottagers and Indians, this is Taylor’s second time making the shortlist. Jacobs’s Molly of the Mall: Literary Lass and Purveyor of Fine Footwear, and Spurway’s Crow, put both authors on the shortlist for the first time.

2020 Leacock Medal Finalist Books.
2020 Leacock Medal Finalist Books.

The annual June award dinner has been cancelled, but the medal will still be awarded June 5. There were 84 books on the judges reading list, and 11 were selected last month for the second round. That announcement story is here.

(Photos Supplied)


Support Independent Journalism